





Second International Conference on Smart Data and Smart Cities October 4-6, 2017, Puebla, Mexico http://ing.pue.itesm.mx/udms2017/

Call for papers

A Smart City is defined as a set of instruments across many scales that are connected through multiple networks and provide continuous data regarding people and environment in support of decisions about the physical and social form of the city. This process cannot be completed without technology advancements. Moreover a Smart City cannot be established without a better involvement of citizens (smart people). This conference aims at presenting novel research concerning the use of information and communication technologies in Smart Cities. The second edition intends to further strengthen the communication between senior researchers, students, developers, practitioners and citizens and to establish collaborations on new research topics.

This conference will be jointly organized by the Urban Data Management Society, ISPRS IV/10, IV/6, IV/4 and the local committee located at Puebla by the Tecnológico de Monterrey (ITESM), Universidad de las Américas-Puebla (UDLAP), Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla (BUAP), Instituto Nacional de Astrofísica, Optica y Electrónica (INAOE) and T-Systems. The UDMS (<u>www.udms.net</u>) is a pioneer in promoting information technologies in European cities from early 70s. ISPRS (<u>www.isprs.org</u>) is one of the largest international organization for geospatial technologies.

Tecnológico de Monterrey, also known as ITESM, was founded in 1943 at Monterrey and today it offers about 200 academic programs including international, undergraduate, master and doctoral programs recognized and accredited by different national and international organisms. ITESM has an international strong reputation among employers and is one of the most prestigious universities in Mexico and Latin America. There are about 85,000 students and 9000 professors distributed in 31 campuses throughout Mexico organized in seven National Faculties and 41 research laboratories.

We invite you to submit full academic papers (approximately 6,000 words) to the conference, related to the following themes:

Smart data

- sensor network databases
- on-the-fly data mining
- geographic and urban knowledge modeling and engineering
- green computing
- Urban Data Analytics and Big Data
- Big Databases and Data Management (noSQL)

Smart people

- volunteered information
- systems for public participation

Smart city

- system of territorial intelligence
- systems for intelligent management (building, transportation, energy, etc.)
- 3D modeling of cities
- Internet of things
- Social Networks
- Mobility and Transport
- urban dashboard design and implementation
- new style of urban decision-making systems
- geovisualization devoted to urban problems
- disaster management systems.

Submission must be done through: https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=udmssdsc-2017

Accepted papers will be published in the ISPRS Archives and Annals. We aim for the highest academic standards for this conference, and therefore full papers will be blind reviewed by three members of the scientific committee.

Organising committee:

David Ricardo Sol Martinez, Tecnológico de Monterrey Campus Puebla, Mexico Ofelia Cervantes Villagómez, Universidad de las Américas Puebla, Mexico Enrique Sucar, Instituto Nacional de Astrofísica, Óptica y Electrónica, Mexico David Pinto, Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla, Mexico Juan Manuel Ahuactzin, T-Systems, Mexico

Important dates:

- Deadline for full papers: May 15, 2017
- Papers acceptance: June 15, 2017
- Conference dates: October 4-6, 2017

Scientific committee

Sisi Zlatanova, TU Delft, The Netherlands, Chair Nader Afzalan, University of Redlands, USA Giorgio Agugiaro, AIT - Austrian Institute of Technology, Austria Ken Arroyo Ohori, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands Martina Baucic, University of Split, Croatia Michela Bertolotto, University College Dublin, Ireland Filip Biljecki, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands Omar Boucelma, Aix-Marseille University, France Azedine Boulmakoul, Hassan II University of Mohammedia, Morocco Maria Antonia Brovelli, Politecnico di Milano, Italy César Cárdenas, Tecnológico de Monterrey, Mexico Ofelia Cervantes, Universidad de las Américas Puebla, Mexico Eliseo Clementini, University of L'Aquila, Italy Volker Coors, Hochschule für Technik Stuttgart, Germany Isabel Cruz, University of Illinois, USA Maria Luisa Damiani, University of Milan, Italy Philippe De Maeyer, Ghent University, Belgium Vincenzo Del Fatto, Free University of Bolzano/Bozen, Italy Claire Ellul, University College London, UK Gilles Gesquiere, Claude Bernard University of Lyon, France Gerhard Groeger, IGG, Bonn University, Germany Eberhard Gülch, HFT Stuttgart, Germany Jan-Henrik Haunert, Universität Bonn, Germany Thomas Hatzichristos, SPReD, Greece Stephen Hirtle, University of Pittsburgh, USA Martin Kada, Technische Universität Berlin, Germany Snjezana Knezic, University of Split, Croatia Mila Koeva, University of Twente, The Netherlands Robert Laurini, INSA Lyon, France Ahmed Lbath, University of Grenoble, France Marguerite Madden, University of Georgia, USA Ed Manley, University College London, UK Viviana Mascardi, University of Genova, Italy Damir Medak, University of Zagreb, Croatia Marco Minghini, Politecnico di Milano, Italy Raul Monroy, Tecnologico de Monterrey, Mexico Regina Motz, Universidad de la República, Uruguay Beniamino Murgante, University of Basilicata, Italy Marco Painho, New University of Lisbon, Portugal Dimos Pantazis, TEI of Athens, Greece Dev Paudyal, USQ, Australia Luis Pineda, IIMAS, UNAM, Mexico Alenka Poplin, Iowa State University, USA Jose Alberto Quintanilha, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil Ivana Racetin, FGAG, Croatia Stephane Roche, Université Laval, Canada Massimo Rumor, University of Padua, Italy Maribel Yasmina Santos, Universidade do Minho, Portugal Sylvie Servigne, INSA-Lyon, France Carissa Slotterback, University of Minnesota, USA David Sol, Tecnologico de Monterrey, Mexico Wei Tu, Shenzhen University, China Genoveva Vargas Solar, CNRS, France Kavita Vemuri, IIITH, India Agnès Voisard, Freie Universität Berlin and Fraunhofer, Germany Mingshu Wang, University of Georgia, USA Bev Wilson, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA Claudia Yamu, University of Groningen, The Netherlands Alexander Zipf, University of Heidelberg, Germany Sisi Zlatanova, Technical University of Delft, The Netherlands