[OSGeo Africa] PRR: Pre-1994 municipal boundaries

Aslam Parker Aslam.Parker at drdlr.gov.za
Tue Mar 14 05:57:23 PDT 2017

Dear Dave

Prior to 1994, there were Municipalities, District Councils and Development Area (in KZN) in existence, but these were not wall to wall. To compound the complexity, the TVBC states were not part of the Republic of Apartheid South Africa. You can get a copy of the pre 1994 municipal boundaries from the office of the Chief Surveyor General http://csg.dla.gov.za/ , Sibusiso Dlamini sibusiso.dlamini at drdlr.gov.za<mailto:sibusiso.dlamini at drdlr.gov.za>.

In addition, Magisterial Districts, Deeds Registration Areas and Surveyor General Allotment/Administrative Areas  were in existence. For those who are interested, CD: NGI has scanned maps (paper) of magisterial boundaries from 1935 to 1989. This is incredibly useful historical overview.
For your convenience, this can be downloaded from https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bye9zCxYpoj_TFE2RjJVa2txZWs

I hope this helps.

From: Africa [mailto:africa-bounces at lists.osgeo.org] On Behalf Of Dave McKelly
Sent: Monday, March 13, 2017 4:41 PM
To: Africa local chapter discussions
Subject: [OSGeo Africa] Pre-1994 municipal boundaries

Good day Aslam

Do you by any chance have a copy of the pre-1994 municipal boundaries or know where I can find a copy?

Your assistance will be much appreciated.

Best regards

David H McKelly
Professional GISc Practitioner - PGP 1288
Spatial Planning and Systems
CSIR Built Environment
Tel:  021 888 2611
fax:  021 888 2694

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.osgeo.org/pipermail/africa/attachments/20170314/eefaab5c/attachment.html>

More information about the Africa mailing list