[OSGeo-Announce] Sol Katz Award 2016 - Call for Nominations

Jorge Sanz jsanz at osgeo.org
Wed Jul 13 01:01:53 PDT 2016

The Open Source Geospatial Foundation would like to open nominations
for the 2016 Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source

The Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software
(GFOSS) will be given to individuals who have demonstrated leadership
in the GFOSS community. Recipients of the award will have contributed
significantly through their activities to advance open source ideals
in the geospatial realm.

Sol Katz was an early pioneer of GFOSS and left behind a large body of
work in the form of applications, format specifications, and utilities
while at the U.S. Bureau of Land Management. This early GFOSS archive
provided both source code and applications freely available to the
community. Sol was also a frequent contributor to many geospatial list
servers, providing much guidance to the geospatial community at large.

Sol unfortunately passed away in 1999 from Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma, but
his legacy lives on in the open source world. Those interested in
making a donation to the American Cancer Society, as per Sol's
family's request, can do so at https://donate.cancer.org/index.

Nominations for the Sol Katz Award should be sent to
[mailto:SolKatzAward at osgeo.org SolKatzAward at osgeo.org] with a
description of the reasons for this nomination.  Nominations will be
accepted until [http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?month=8&day=4&year=2016&hour=23&min=59&sec=59
23:59 UTC on August 4th]. A recipient will be decided from the
nomination list by an OSGeo designated selection committee.

The winner of the Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source
Software will be announced at the FOSS4G-Bonn event in August. The
hope is that the award will both acknowledge the work of community
members, and pay tribute to one of its founders, for years to come.

It should be noted that past awardees and selection committee members
are not eligible.

Past Awardees:

 2015: Maria Brovelli
 2014: Gary Sherman
 2013: Arnulf Christl
 2012: Venkatesh Raghavan
 2011: Martin Davis
 2010: Helena Mitasova
 2009: Daniel Morissette
 2008: Paul Ramsey
 2007: Steve Lime
 2006: Markus Neteler
 2005: Frank Warmerdam

Selection Committee 2016

Venkatesh Raghavan (chair)
Frank Warmerdam]
Markus Neteler]
Steve Lime
Paul Ramsey
Sophia Parafina
Daniel Morissette
Helena Mitasova
Martin Davis
Arnulf Christl
Gary Sherman
Maria Brovelli

More information about the Announce mailing list