[OSGeo-Announce] Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software – Call for Nominations

Jorge Sanz jsanz at osgeo.org
Fri Jul 31 01:19:09 PDT 2020

The Open Source Geospatial Foundation would like to open nominations for
the 2020 Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software.

The Sol Katz Award for Free and Open Source Software for Geospatial
(FOSS4G) will be given to individuals who have demonstrated leadership in
the FOSS4G community. Recipients of the award will have contributed
significantly through their activities to advance open source ideals in the
geospatial realm.

Sol Katz was an early pioneer of FOSS4G and left behind a large body of
work in the form of applications, format specifications, and utilities
while at the U.S. Bureau of Land Management. This early FOSS4G archive
provided both source code and applications freely available to the
community. Sol was also a frequent contributor to many geospatial list
servers, providing much guidance to the geospatial community at large.

Sol unfortunately passed away in 1999 from Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma, but his
legacy lives on in the open source world. Those interested in making a
donation to the American Cancer Society, as per Sol’s family’s request, can
do so at https://donate.cancer.org.

Nominations for the Sol Katz Award should be sent to SolKatzAward at osgeo.org
with a description of the reasons for this nomination. Nominations will be
accepted until end-of-day August 21st Anywhere on Earth
<https://www.timeanddate.com/time/zones/aoe>. A recipient will be decided
from the nomination list by the OSGeo selection committee.

As the world is currently in challenging times, the winner of the Sol Katz
Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software will be announced online
during the next OSGeo Annual General Meeting on 2020-09-10
<https://wiki.osgeo.org/wiki/Annual_General_Meeting_2020>. The hope is that
the award will both acknowledge the work of community members, and pay
tribute to one of its founders, for years to come.

It should be noted that past awardees and selection committee members are
not eligible.

Past Awardees:

2019 Even Rouault
2018 Astrid Emde
2017 Andrea Aime
2016 Jeff McKenna
2015 Maria Brovelli
2014 Gary Sherman
2013 Arnulf Christl
2012 Venkatesh Raghavan
2011 Martin Davis
2010 Helena Mitasova
2009 Daniel Morissette
2008 Paul Ramsey
2007 Steve Lime
2006 Markus Neteler
2005 Frank Warmerdam

Selection Committee 2020:

Jeff McKenna (chair)
Frank Warmerdam
Markus Neteler
Steve Lime
Paul Ramsey
Sophia Parafina
Daniel Morissette
Helena Mitasova
Martin Davis
Venkatesh Raghavan
Arnulf Christl
Gary Sherman
Maria Brovelli
Andrea Aime
Astrid Emde
Even Rouault

Jeff McKenna
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.osgeo.org/pipermail/announce/attachments/20200731/f3208fe4/attachment.html>

More information about the Announce mailing list