[Board] Fwd: Regarding " osgeo" Dispute

Carl Reed creed at opengeospatial.org
Fri Jul 20 06:04:45 PDT 2012

Jo -

The OGC gets these type of emails on a regular basis. We had legal counsel check and they said that these are all scams.

Hope this helps.


From: Jo Cook 
Sent: Friday, July 20, 2012 2:55 AM
To: osgeo-board List 
Subject: [Board] Fwd: Regarding " osgeo" Dispute

Hi All, 

Did anyone else get sent this? Is it a scam or something we need to respond to?


---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Paul Liu <paul.liu at cnnet-china.com>
Date: Fri, Jul 20, 2012 at 8:37 AM
Subject: Regarding " osgeo" Dispute

(If you are not in charge of this please transfer this email to your President or appropriate person, thanks)

Dear President,

We are the department of Asian Domain registration service in china, have something to confirm with you. We formally received an application on July 19,2012. One company which self-styled “Leinon Investment Co., Ltd” were applying to register "osgeo" as Network Brand and following domain names:


After our initial checking, we found the name were similar to your company's, so we need to check with you whether your company has authorized that company to register these names. If you authorized this, we will finish the registration at once. If you did not authorize, please let us know within 7 workdays, so that we will handle this issue better. Out of the time limit we will unconditionally finish the registration for Leinon Investment Co., Ltd.
Best Regards,  
Paul Liu   

Registration Dept.

Tel: +86 28 8315 5738 || Fax: +86 28 8315 5738 
Address:21/F Dongcheng International No,98 XiAn Road,Jin Niu District,Chengdu City,China.  

Please consider the environment before you print this e-mail.


Jo Cook
Astun Technology Ltd, The Coach House, 17 West Street, Epsom, Surrey, KT18 7RL, UK 
t:+44 750 095 8167

iShare - Data integration and publishing platform


Company registration no. 5410695. Registered in England and Wales. Registered office: 120 Manor Green Road, Epsom, Surrey, KT19 8LN VAT no. 864201149.

Board mailing list
Board at lists.osgeo.org
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.osgeo.org/pipermail/board/attachments/20120720/c0211744/attachment.html>

More information about the Board mailing list