[OSGeo-Conf] 2012 Final Step: Voting

Dave McIlhagga dmcilhagga at dmsolutions.ca
Fri Sep 2 15:55:06 EDT 2011

Jeff - I'm not clear on how this will break the tie.

Did we ever come up with a tie-breaking process? If not -- I wonder if it should be referred to the Board for a vote since that would be the next step in the approval process?


On 2011-09-02, at 3:36 PM, Jeff McKenna wrote:

> Thank you to all committee members, all the votes are now received. Unfortunately, the result is an exact tie: 7 votes for Beijing and 7 votes for Prague.
> There is no choice now but to open the discussion/question period again (in fact from reading the submitted votes, the few public votes and vote explanations played a large part in several decisions).  So now the schedule is:
>  Additional Question period: now to Tuesday 6th
>  Final Voting:               7th-9th
> Finally, I ask that your vote remain private (there was a long discussion on this years ago here and the overwhelming decision was to keep these private), but do share your questions and thoughts on this mailing list for everyone.
> I am sorry to not be able to announce this today, I was really hoping we could.  Downside of this: even less time for the winning team to put together a presentation for the final Denver plenary.
> -jeff
>>> On 11-08-29 5:02 PM, Jeff McKenna wrote:
>>>> Thank you to both teams for answering the OSGeo Conference Committee's
>>>> questions regarding the proposals.
>>>> I would ask that all OSGeo Conference Committee members email me their
>>>> selection privately for 2012: "Beijing" or "Prague" - please email me
>>>> before the end of your Thursday (Sept 1st) day. If there is a majority
>>>> in the voting results, we'll announce the winner on Friday. Hopefully
>>>> this still gives the winner some time to prepare a short 'invitation'
>>>> presentation for the 10 minute slot in the closing plenary in Denver on
>>>> September 16th (see Day 5: 3:30pm-3:40pm
>>>> http://2011.foss4g.org/program/session-schedule).
>>>> Background info:
>>>> - proposals: http://www.osgeo.org/conference/rfp
>>>> - OSGeo Committee Members:
>>>> Thierry Badard
>>>> Arnulf Christl
>>>> Gavin Fleming
>>>> Steve Lime
>>>> Dave McIlhagga
>>>> Helena Mitasova
>>>> Markus Neteler
>>>> Claude Philipona
>>>> Venkatesh Raghavan
>>>> Paul Ramsey
>>>> Cameron Shorter
>>>> Frank Warmerdam
>>>> Lorenzo Becchi
>>>> Jeff McKenna
>>>> (I've already discussed with Peter Batty about his involvement in this
>>>> committee after Denver)
>>>> Thanks everyone, this is exciting!
>>>> -jeff
> _______________________________________________
> Conference_dev mailing list
> Conference_dev at lists.osgeo.org
> http://lists.osgeo.org/mailman/listinfo/conference_dev

More information about the Conference_dev mailing list