[OSGeo-Conf] MOTION : Conference Committee - Updating Membership Policies and Process

Vasile Craciunescu vasile at geo-spatial.org
Fri Sep 16 23:48:03 PDT 2016

+1 Vasile

Sorry for the late vote. I traveled a lot in the last days. Thank you 
Steven for the great work!

On 9/9/16 5:41 PM, Steven Feldman wrote:
> This mail is aimed at the current members of the Conference Committee
> (we do not have a private list).
> Only committee members can vote on these proposals, others on this list
> are welcome to comment and committee members will hopefully take note of
> those opinions when voting on the matters proposed.
> The current membership of the conference committee is listed
> at https://wiki.osgeo.org/wiki/Conference_Committee#Current_Members. We
> have 19 members after Dave McIlhagga resigned and after we co-opted Till
> Adams as the chair of FOSS4G2016. There is currently no policy or rule
> for eligibility nor for requiring a member to retire after a period of
> time.
> I have suggested in the past that we needed to have an open and fair
> process for selecting members and limiting the maximum number of
> committee members. At the face to face it was agreed that I should
> propose a policy.
> I propose the following:
> Goals
> =====
> The conference committee have the responsibility to run the selection
> process and voting for the global FOSS4G, to vote on other proposals
> submitted to the committee and to advise the board on other matters
> relating to FOSS4G events.
> Role of the Committee and the broader community on the Conference_Dev list
> ============================================================
> 1) Everyday topics will be decided upon by an open vote of all list
> participants in a clearly designated separate mail thread (+1/-1) over a
> minimum of two business days with a minimum participation of 3 votes.
> Ideally we aim for consensus falling back on simple majority vote where
> necessary. The result will be clearly declared afterwards (or whatever
> is decided).
> 2) Election of conference committee is by secret vote and restricted to
> the remaining conference committee members and board members who are not
> members of the conference committee.
> 3) FOSS4G Selection - All Letters of Intent and subsequent proposals
> will be posted to the list for open comment by all participants. The
> selection of the winning proposal is by secret vote of conference
> committee members only. Any committee member who has a potential
> conflict of interest is expected to withdraw from vote. In the event of
> a disagreement the committee chair will decide.
> Votes in 2 and 3 are to an online voting service or by email to an
> independent teller appointed by CC Chair
> Conference Committee membership policy and process
> ==========================================
> 1) The conference committee aims to retain up to 11 active members,
> preferably an odd number
> 2) The committee aims for half of these members to be chairs (or vice
> chairs) of the most recent FOSS4G global events. The chair of the most
> recent FOSS4G event will automatically be invited to become a member
> 3) The remaining membership is open, ideally attracting people from
> earlier past chairs or active LOC members from past Global, Regional
> FOSS4G or related conferences
> 4) Each year (after FOSS4G) the 3 committee members should stand down:
> a) The longest standing past FOSS4G chair
> b) The longest standing 2 committee members remaining
> 5) Each year, prior to putting out the Global FOSS4G RfP, the old
> committee should vote for their replacement committee, using the above
> criteria as voting guidelines.  OSGeo Board members who are not on the
> conference committee will also be invited to vote.
> 6) Past committee members including those who have stood down due to
> length of service may stand for re-election
> 7) Votes will be secret either using an online voting system or by email
> to a designated teller who is not a voter. The mechanism will be
> selected by the committee chair.
> I would ask committee members (and list participants) to comment on this
> proposal by 18.00 GMT Wednesday 14th September. I will then call for a
> vote amongst committee members only, the vote will close at 18.00 GMT on
> Sunday 18th September.
> Once the membership policy has been agreed we will then need to apply
> the policy to the existing membership. I suggest that we ask all current
> members to confirm whether they wish to remain committee members and
> then hold an election (if needed). To this end it would be helpful if
> each committee member could update their record on the wiki page to show
> when they joined the conference committee (see my example).
> The intention is that a 2016-7 committee of 11 will have been selected
> before we vote on the LoI’s for 2018, which is likely to be before the
> end of October.
> ______
> Steven
> _______________________________________________
> Conference_dev mailing list
> Conference_dev at lists.osgeo.org
> http://lists.osgeo.org/mailman/listinfo/conference_dev

Vasile Crăciunescu
geo-spatial.org: An elegant place for sharing geoKnowledge & geoData

More information about the Conference_dev mailing list