[OSGeo-Discuss] 2011 Sol Katz Award: Call for Nominations

Jeff McKenna jmckenna at gatewaygeomatics.com
Fri Aug 19 05:03:48 PDT 2011

Today is the last day to nominate your FOSS4G leader, don't forget!


On 11-05-27 11:25 AM, Jeff McKenna wrote:
> The Open Source Geospatial Foundation would like to open nominations for
> the 2011 Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software.
> The Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software (GFOSS)
> will be given to individuals who have demonstrated leadership in the
> GFOSS community. Recipients of the award will have contributed
> significantly through their activities to advance open source ideals in
> the geospatial realm.
> Sol Katz was an early pioneer of GFOSS and left behind a large body of
> work in the form of applications, format specifications, and utilities
> while at the U.S. Bureau of Land Management. This early GFOSS archive
> provided both source code and applications freely available to the
> community. Sol was also a frequent contributor to many geospatial list
> servers, providing much guidance to the geospatial community at large.
> Sol unfortunately passed away in 1999 from Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma, but
> his legacy lives on in the open source world. Those interested in making
> a donation to the American Cancer Society, as per Sol's family's
> request, can do so at
> https://www.cancer.org/involved/donate/donateonlinenow/index
> Nominations for the Sol Katz Award should be sent to
> SolKatzAward at osgeo.org with a description of the reasons for this
> nomination. Nominations will be accepted until 23:59 UTC on *August
> 19th*
> (http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?month=8&day=19&year=2011&hour=23&min=59&sec=59).
> A recipient will be decided from the nomination list by an OSGeo
> designated selection committee.
> The winner of the Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source
> Software will be announced on September 16th at the FOSS4G 2011
> conference (http://2011.foss4g.org/) closing plenary in Denver,
> Colorado, U.S.A. The hope is that the award will both acknowledge the
> work of community members, and pay tribute to one of its founders, for
> years to come.
> It should be noted that past awardees and selection committee members
> are not eligible.
> Past Awardees:
> 2010: Helena Mitasova
> 2009: Daniel Morissette
> 2008: Paul Ramsey
> 2007: Steve Lime
> 2006: Markus Neteler
> 2005: Frank Warmerdam
> Selection Committee:
> Jeff McKenna (chair)
> Daniel Morissette
> Frank Warmerdam
> Markus Neteler
> Steve Lime
> Paul Ramsey
> Sophia Parafina
> Helena Mitasova

More information about the Discuss mailing list