[OSGeo-Discuss] REMINDER: Tomorrow is last day of nominations for the Sol Katz Award

Jeff McKenna jmckenna at gatewaygeomatics.com
Thu Sep 27 11:01:37 PDT 2012

Don't forget to nominate your local leader!


On 12-09-17 10:26 AM, Jeff McKenna wrote:
> -------- Original Message --------
> Subject: [OSGeo-Announce] Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open
> Source Software - Call for Nominations
> Date: Fri, 14 Sep 2012 13:39:38 -0700
> From: Frank Warmerdam <warmerdam at pobox.com>
> To: announce at lists.osgeo.org
> The Open Source Geospatial Foundation would like to open
> nominations for the 2012 Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free
> and Open Source Software.
> The Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source
> Software (GFOSS) will be given to individuals who have
> demonstrated leadership in the GFOSS community. Recipients
> of the award will have contributed significantly through their
> activities to advance open source ideals in the geospatial realm.
> Sol Katz was an early pioneer of GFOSS and left behind a large
> body of work in the form of applications, format specifications,
> and utilities while at the U.S. Bureau of Land Management. This
> early GFOSS archive provided both source code and applications
> freely available to the community. Sol was also a frequent
> contributor to many geospatial list servers, providing much
> guidance to the geospatial community at large.
> Sol unfortunately passed away in 1999 from Non-Hodgkin's
> Lymphoma, but his legacy lives on in the open source world.
> Those interested in making a donation to the American Cancer
> Society, as per Sol's family's request, can do so at:
>   https://www.cancer.org/involved/donate/donateonlinenow/index
> Nominations for the Sol Katz Award should be sent to
> SolKatzAward at osgeo.org with a description of the reasons for
> this nomination. Nominations will be accepted until 23:59 UTC
> on September 28th.  A recipient will be decided from the
> nomination list by an OSGeo designated selection committee.
> The winner of the Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open
> Source Software will be announced in early October. The hope is
> that the award will both acknowledge the work of community
> members, and pay tribute to one of its founders, for years to
> come.  It should be noted that past awardees and selection
> committee members are not eligible.
> Past Awardees:
>  2011: Martin Davis
>  2010: Helena Mitasova
>  2009: Daniel Morissette
>  2008: Paul Ramsey
>  2007: Steve Lime
>  2006: Markus Neteler
>  2005: Frank Warmerdam
> Selection Committee:
>  Jeff McKenna (chair)
>  Daniel Morissette
>  Frank Warmerdam
>  Markus Neteler
>  Steve Lime
>  Paul Ramsey
>  Sophia Parafina
>  Helena Mitasova
>  Martin Davis

More information about the Discuss mailing list