[OSGeo-Discuss] Call for Nominations for the 2018 Sol Katz Award

Jeff McKenna jmckenna at gatewaygeomatics.com
Fri Jul 6 14:47:04 PDT 2018

The Open Source Geospatial Foundation would like to open nominations for 
the 2018 Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software.

(you can find more info on the Sol Katz Award wiki page

The Sol Katz Award for Free and Open Source Software for Geospatial 
(FOSS4G) will be given to individuals who have demonstrated leadership 
in the FOSS4G community. Recipients of the award will have contributed 
significantly through their activities to advance open source ideals in 
the geospatial realm.

Sol Katz was an early pioneer of FOSS4G and left behind a large body of 
work in the form of applications, format specifications, and utilities 
while at the U.S. Bureau of Land Management. This early FOSS4G archive 
provided both source code and applications freely available to the 
community. Sol was also a frequent contributor to many geospatial list 
servers, providing much guidance to the geospatial community at large.

Sol unfortunately passed away in 1999 from Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma, but 
his legacy lives on in the open source world. Those interested in making 
a donation to the American Cancer Society, as per Sol's family's 
request, can do so at https://donate.cancer.org/index.

Nominations for the Sol Katz Award should be sent to 
SolKatzAward at osgeo.org with a description of the reasons for this 
nomination. Nominations will be accepted until end-of-day August 10th 
Anywhere on Earth (https://www.timeanddate.com/time/zones/aoe). A 
recipient will be decided from the nomination list by the OSGeo 
selection committee.

The winner of the Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source 
Software will be announced at the FOSS4G 2018 event in August, in Dar es 
Salaam, Tanzania. The hope is that the award will both acknowledge the 
work of community members, and pay tribute to one of its founders, for 
years to come.

It should be noted that past awardees and selection committee members 
are not eligible.

Past Awardees:

  2017: Andrea Aime
  2016: Jeff McKenna
  2015: Maria Brovelli
  2014: Gary Sherman
  2013: Arnulf Christl
  2012: Venkatesh Raghavan
  2011: Martin Davis
  2010: Helena Mitasova
  2009: Daniel Morissette
  2008: Paul Ramsey
  2007: Steve Lime
  2006: Markus Neteler
  2005: Frank Warmerdam

Selection Committee 2018:

Jeff McKenna (chair)
Frank Warmerdam
Markus Neteler
Steve Lime
Paul Ramsey
Sophia Parafina
Daniel Morissette
Helena Mitasova
Martin Davis
Venkatesh Raghavan
Arnulf Christl
Gary Sherman
Maria Brovelli
Andrea Aime

More information about the Discuss mailing list