[Mapbender-users] Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software - Call for Nominations

Astrid Emde astrid.emde at wheregroup.com
Thu Jul 8 02:47:33 EDT 2010

The Open Source Geospatial Foundation would like to open nominations for
the 2010 Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software.

The Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software (GFOSS)
will be given to individuals who have demonstrated leadership in the GFOSS
community. Recipients of the award will have contributed significantly
through their activities to advance open source ideals in the geospatial

Sol Katz was an early pioneer of GFOSS and left behind a large body of
work in the form of applications, format specifications, and utilities
while at the U.S. Bureau of Land Management. This early GFOSS archive
provided both source code and
applications freely available to the community. Sol was also a frequent
contributor to many geospatial list servers, providing much guidance to
the geospatial community at large.

Sol unfortunately passed away in 1999 from Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma, but his
legacy lives on in the open source world. Those interested in making a
donation to the American Cancer Society, as per Sol's family's request,
can do so at

Nominations for the Sol Katz Award should be sent to
SolKatzAward at osgeo.org with a
description of the reasons for this nomination. Nominations will be
accepted until 23:59 UTC on August 20th

A recipient will be decided from the nomination list by an OSGeo designated
selection committee.

The winner of the Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source
Software will
be announced on September 9th at the FOSS4G 2010 conference
(http://2010.foss4g.org/) closing plenary in Barcelona, Spain. The hope is
that the award will both acknowledge the work of community members, and
pay tribute to one of its founders, for years to come.

It should be noted that past awardees and selection committee members are
not eligible.

Past Awardees:

  2009: Daniel Morissette
  2008: Paul Ramsey
  2007: Steve Lime
  2006: Markus Neteler
  2005: Frank Warmerdam

Selection Committee:

  Jeff McKenna (chair)
  Daniel Morissette
  Frank Warmerdam
  Markus Neteler
  Steve Lime
  Paul Ramsey
  Sophia Parafina

More information about the Mapbender_users mailing list