[OSGeo-Announce] Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software - Call for Nominations 2021

Astrid Emde (OSGeo) astrid_emde at osgeo.org
Mon Apr 26 12:36:44 PDT 2021


News item:

The Open Source Geospatial Foundation would like to open nominations for
the 2021 Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software. 

The Sol Katz Award for Free and Open Source Software for Geospatial
(FOSS4G) will be given to individuals who have demonstrated leadership
in the FOSS4G community. Recipients of the award will have contributed
significantly through their activities to advance open source ideals in
the geospatial realm. 

Sol Katz was an early pioneer of FOSS4G and left behind a large body of
work in the form of applications, format specifications, and utilities
while at the U.S. Bureau of Land Management. This early FOSS4G archive
provided both source code and applications freely available to the
community. Sol was also a frequent contributor to many geospatial list
servers, providing much guidance to the geospatial community at large. 

Sol unfortunately passed away in 1999 from Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma, but
his legacy lives on in the open source world. Those interested in making
a donation to the American Cancer Society, as per Sol's family's
request, can do so at https://donate.cancer.org [1] . 

Nominations for the Sol Katz Award should be sent to
SolKatzAward at osgeo.org with a description of the reasons for this
nomination. Nominations will be accepted until end-of-day August 20th
Anywhere on Earth. A recipient will be decided from the nomination list
by the OSGeo selection committee. 

The winner of the Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source
Software will be announced virtually during the FOSS4G 2021 event in
Buenos Aires, Argentina. The hope is that the award will both
acknowledge the work of community members, and pay tribute to one of its
founders, for years to come. 

It should be noted that past awardees and selection committee members
are not eligible. 


 	* 2020 [3]: Anita Graser [4]
 	* 2019 [5]: Even Rouault [6]
 	* 2018 [7]: Astrid Emde [8]
 	* 2017: Andrea Aime [9]
 	* 2016 [10]: Jeff McKenna [11]
 	* 2015 [12]: Maria Brovelli [13]
 	* 2014 [14]: Gary Sherman [15]
 	* 2013 [16]: Arnulf Christl [17]
 	* 2012 [18]: Venkatesh Raghavan [19]
 	* 2011: Martin Davis [20]
 	* 2010 [21]: Helena Mitasova [22]
 	* 2009 [23]: Daniel Morissette [24]
 	* 2008 [25]: Paul Ramsey [26]
 	* 2007 [27]: Steve Lime [28]
 	* 2006 [29]: Markus Neteler [30]
 	* 2005: Frank Warmerdam [31]

Selection Committee 2021: 

Jeff McKenna (chair)
 Frank Warmerdam
 Markus Neteler
 Steve Lime
 Paul Ramsey
 Sophia Parafina
 Daniel Morissette
 Helena Mitasova
 Martin Davis
 Venkatesh Raghavan
 Arnulf Christl
 Gary Sherman
 Maria Brovelli
 Andrea Aime
 Astrid Emde
 Even Rouault
 Anita Graser 

[1] https://donate.cancer.org
[2] https://www.osgeo.org/community/awards/
[4] https://www.osgeo.org/member/anita-graser/
[6] https://www.osgeo.org/member/even-rouault//
[8] https://www.osgeo.org/member/astrid-emde/
[9] https://www.osgeo.org/member/aime/
[11] https://www.osgeo.org/member/jeff-mckenna/
[13] https://www.osgeo.org/member/maria-brovelli
[15] https://wiki.osgeo.org/wiki/Gary_Sherman
[17] https://www.osgeo.org/member/arnulf-christl
[19] https://www.osgeo.org/member/venkatesh-raghavan
[20] https://www.osgeo.org/member/davis
[22] https://www.osgeo.org/member/helena-mitasova
[24] https://wiki.osgeo.org/wiki/User:Dmorissette
[26] https://www.osgeo.org/member/paul-ramsey
[28] http://www.osgeo.org/node/446
[30] https://www.osgeo.org/member/markus-neteler
[31] https://wiki.osgeo.org/wiki/User:Warmerda
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.osgeo.org/pipermail/announce/attachments/20210426/161c112f/attachment.html>

More information about the Announce mailing list